Advisory Panel on NDPP Draws Up Shortlist

The Presidency

A shortlist of 12 candidates to serve as the National Director of Public Prosecutions has been drawn up.

The presidency published the list on its website.

The advisory panel appointed by president Ramaphosa identified the 12 candidates.

Interviews will take place between 14 and 16 November 2018.

According to the presidency, 22 applications and 24 nominations were received by close of business on 2 November 2018.

Meanwhile, the presidency has published, in Government Gazette 42029, the terms of reference for the enquiry into the fitness of Advocate Nomgcobo Jiba and Advocate Lawrence Sithembiso Mrwebi to hold the office of Deputy National Director of Public Prosecutions and Special Director of Public Prosecutions respectively.

The president has appointed Justice Yvonne Mokgoro (retired) as chairperson of the enquiry to be assisted by Kgomotso Moroka SC and Thenjiwe Vilakazi.

Part of the enquiry needs to focus on whether Jiba and Mrwebi complied with the Constitution, the National Prosecuting Authority Act and any other relevant laws and whether they are fit and proper to hold their positions.

The enquiry has four months in which to complete its work.

In a separate matter, the justice and constitutional development department has, in Gazette 42021, announced the setting up of a small claims court for the area of Ngwelezane.

The notice also determines that Ngwelezane is the seat of the court.

Sabinet Cape Town Office