BRICS STI Ministers Adopt Durban Declaration

Department of Science and Technology

The 6th Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa (BRICS) Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) Ministerial Meeting, held in Durban recently, has adopted the Durban Declaration.

According to the science and technology department, the Durban Declaration includes a proposal to set up a BRICS Vaccine and Research Development Centre and establish a BRICS partnership on the new industrial revolution.

The 10th BRICS Summit is taking place in South Africa later this month. The theme is "BRICS in Africa: Cooperation for inclusive growth and shared prosperity in the 4th Industrial Revolution".

The theme of the 6th BRICS STI Ministerial Meeting was “Leveraging BRICS Science, Technology and Innovation to Enhance Inclusive Growth and Development”.

During the meeting, the science and technology minister, Mmamoloko Kubayi-Ngubane, declared that the meeting’s theme captured South Africa's aim to use its term as BRICS President to focus on “enhancing BRICS cooperation in the generation and application of new knowledge, to improve the quality of life of all BRICS citizens, and to advance global sustainable development.”

Sabinet Cape Town Office